FFA Members Excel at State FFA Convention

FFA Members Excel at State FFA Convention
FFA Members Excel at State FFA Convention

The Kentucky Association of FFA held its 90th Annual State Convention on June 11-13, 2019, at Rupp Area in Lexington, Kentucky.  Fifteen members of the LaRue County FFA chapter attended the State FFA Convention this year, but several others were recognized for their previous accomplishments.


During convention members participated in a number of activities and excelled.  Jasmine Benningfield was selected as a winner of a $500 Kentucky Association of Agricultural Educators Scholarship.  Four members were recognized as state proficiency winner Cole Holt in Forest Management and Products, Clay Rogers in Agricultural Mechanics Design and Fabrication, Sydney Pepper in Agricultural Sales Placement, and Myah Meredith in Agricultural Communications and will all move on to the National Contest in each area to be judged this summer to determine if they are a national proficiency finalist.  Additionally these proficiencies placed second or third, Madison Wilmoth was third in Agricultural Services, Alexandra English was second in Agriscience Research – Animal Systems, November Wales was third in Agriscience Research – plant Systems, Nathan Helm was second in Diversified Crop Entrepreneurship Proficiency, Landon Thompson was third in both Environmental Science and Forage Production, Brayden Beeler was second in Fruit Production, Kalli Flanders was second in Grain Production Entrepreneurship, Sydney Pepper was second in Grain Placement, Isaiah Pruitt was third in Home and/or Community Development, Clay Rogers was third in Specialty Animal, Ameena Wells was second in Specialty Crop and Austin Burgess was third in Wildlife Management. Seventeen of the 30 proficiencies that LaRue County had compete in the state contest placed first, second or third.


The Agricultural Communications Team consisting of Alexandra English, Will Faulkner, Tori Perry and Madison Wilmoth, were state winners.  Will Faulkner was the state high individual in the contest.  The Food Science Team consisting of Jasmine Benningfield, Austin Burgess, Haleigh Jurcak and Sydney Pepper were state winners.  Jasmine Benningfield was the state high individual.  The Milk Quality and Products Team consisting of Cameron Mullins, Anastacia Newby, Isaiah Pruitt, and November Wales, were state winners.  Isaiah Pruitt was the state high individual in the contest.  All three of these teams will now go on to compete at National Convention in October in Indianapolis.  This is the second year in a row that LaRue County has won all three of these contests.  This marks the eleventh consecutive year of teams competing in national contests from LaRue County. 


The Ag Marketing Team consisting of Jacob Hinton, Destiny Honaker and Courtney Linton placed third.  Jacob Hinton also competed in the state fruit and vegetable impromptu.


Mikala Baca, Brayden Beeler, Jasmine Benningfield, Austin Burgess, Deanna Carr, Daisy Graham and Alexandra Shelton were all awarded their state FFA degree at convention.  This is the highest degree the state awards.


The chapter also was once again gold rated and will be one of 16 chapters from Kentucky recognized at the National level for their work.


This was once again a great State FFA Convention for LaRue County.  Members put in countless hours of hard work to achieve these levels of success.

Back to School News Print News Article