LCS recognized as District of Distinction at state board meeting

District of Distinction
District of Distinction

Pictured are Kentucky Education Commissioner Stephen Pruitt, LCS Board Chairwoman Dawn Conner, LCS Superintendent Sam Sanders and Kentucky Board of Education Chair William Twyman.

The Kentucky Board of Education (KBE) and the Kentucky Department of Education recognized 16 school districts including LaRue County Schools as Districts of Distinction at the board’s meeting Feb. 8 in Frankfort.

The districts earned the recognition under the Unbridled Learning: College and Career Readiness for All accountability system. To qualify, a district must have an overall accountability score at the 95th percentile or higher (based on achievement, gap, growth, college and career readiness, graduation rate and program reviews), meet its current year Annual Measurable Objective, have at least a 95 percent participation rate in statewide assessments and not have a Focus or Priority School. The achievement data is based on K-PREP testing in spring 2016.

Back to School News Print News Article